Connect with us

Notre Dame Fighting Irish

Notre Dame OC Chip Long nominated for Broyles Award

On Wednesday, The Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation announced the nominees for the 2018 Broyles Award, which honors the top assistant coaches in all of College Football. The list of 1,500-plus assistant coaches was trimmed to 53. The Broyles Award selection process includes the Football Writers Association of American (FWAA), a college football hall-of-fame selection committed and current college head coaches.

While an argument could made in favor of defensive coordinator Clark Lea or even defensive line coach Mike Elston, Notre Dame offensive coordinator Chip Long made the list and is the lone representative for the Fighting Irish, as only one nominee is allowed per each program.

Notre Dame, the No. 3 team in America according to the latest College Football Playoff Rankings, has done a very good job on the offensive side of the ball this season. The team ranks 32nd in total offense (449.1 yards per game) and in scoring (33.7 points per game).

Notre Dame, the No. 3 team in America according to the latest College Football Playoff Rankings, has done a very good job on the offensive side of the ball this season. The team ranks 32nd in total offense (449.1 yards per game) and in scoring (33.7 points per game). However, if you look at the last six games since quarterback Ian Book was named starter, Notre Dame actually has the No. 13-ranked offense in the country. It’s no surprise that the numbers have improved since Book’s emergence for the past six games and the return of running back Dexter Williams over the last five games.

Regarding assistant coaches Notre Dame has faced or will face this year, the full list of nominees includes Michigan defensive coordinator Don Brown, Wake Forest assistant head coach and wide receivers coach Kevin Higgins, Northwestern defensive coordinator Mike Hankwitz, Syracuse special teams coordinator and wide receivers coach Justin Lustig, and USC assistant head coach and recruiting coordinator Johnny Nansen.

The full list of the 53 nominees include:

Alabama – Mike Locksley, Offensive Coordinator

Alabama Birmingham – David Reeves, Defensive Coordinator

Appalachian State – Bryan Brown, Defensive Coordinator/Cornerbacks

Arizona State – Danny Gonzales, Defensive Coordinator

Arkansas State – Norval McKenzie, Special Teams Coordinator/Running Backs

Army – Jay Bateman, Defensive Coordinator

Auburn – Larry Porter, Special Teams Coordinator

Boise State – Zak Hill, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

Brigham Young – Ed Lamb, Special Teams Coordinator/Linebackers

Buffalo – Brian Borland, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties

California – Tim DeRuyter, Defensive Coordinator/Outside Linebackers

Central Florida – Glen Elarbee, Offensive Line

Cincinnati – Marcus Freeman, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Clemson – Jeff Scott, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Wide Receivers

Coastal Carolina – Jamey Chadwell, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

Duke – Matt Guerrieri, Co-Defensive Coordinator

Eastern Michigan – Neal Neathery, Assistant Head Coach/Defensive Coordinator

Fresno State – Bert Watts, Defensive Coordinator

Georgia – Sam Pittman, Offensive Line

Georgia Southern – Scot Sloan, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties

Houston – Kendal Briles, Offensive Coordinator/Quaterbacks

Indiana – Mike Hart, Assistant Head Coach/Running Backs

Iowa – Phil Parker, Defensive Coordinator/Secondary

Iowa State – Tyson Veidt, Assistant Head Coach/Linebackers

Kentucky – Matt House, Defensive Coordinator/Inside Linebackers

Louisiana State – Dave Aranda, Defensive Coordinator

Memphis – Ryan Silverfield, Offensive Line/Run Game Coordinator

Miami – Manny Diaz, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Michigan – Don Brown, Defensive Coordinator

Michigan State – Mike Tressel, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

Mississippi State – Bob Shoop, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties

Missouri – Brick Haley, Defensive Line

Nebraska – Mario Verduzco, Quarterbacks

North Carolina State – Eliah Drinkwitz, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

North Texas – Graham Harrell, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

Northwestern – Mike Hankwitz, Defensive Coordinator

Notre Dame – Chip Long, Offensive Coordinator

Ohio State – Ryan Day, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

Oklahoma – Bill Bedenbaugh, Co-Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line

Southern Methodist – Kevin Kane, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers

South Carolina – Eric Wolford, Offensive Line

Syracuse – Justin Lustig, Special Teams Coordinator/Wide Receivers

Temple – Chris Wiesehan, Offensive Line/Run Game Coordinator

Texas Tech – Adam Scheier, Special Teams Coordinator

Toledo – Robby Discher, Special Teams Coordinator/Tight Ends

Troy – Bam Hardmon, Inside Linebackers

USC – Johnny Nansen, Assistant Head Coach/Recruiting Coordinator

Utah – Morgan Scalley, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties

Utah State – David Yost, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

Wake Forest – Kevin Higgins, Assistant Head Coach/Wide Receivers

Washington State – Tracy Claeys, Defensive Coordinator

West Virginia – Jake Spavital, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

Wisconsin – Joe Rudolph, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive Line

An 19-member selection committee of distinguished former head coaches, along with a committee representing the FWAA will select 15 semi-finalists and five finalists from the list of nominees and an overall winner. Those finalists will be invited to travel to Little Rock, Ark. where the 2018 Broyles Award winner will be announced on Tuesday, December 4th at the Marriott Hotel.

The winner of the 2018 Broyles Award was Tony Elliott, co-offensive coordinator and running backs coach at Clemson. Winners from the past five seasons are not eligible to be nominated for the Broyles Award.

Source Link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More in Notre Dame Fighting Irish